Start a conversation

Setup Time Machine

Set up Time Machine


Time Machine is the built-in backup feature of your Mac. 


When you connect an external hard drive directly to your Mac, you might be asked if you want to use the drive to back up with Time Machine. Click “Use as Backup Disk.” If you select the option to encrypt, your backups will be accessible only to users with the password.


If Time Machine doesn't ask you to choose a backup disk when you connect the drive to your Mac:

  1. Open Time Machine preferences from the system preferences.
  2. Click Select Backup Disk, Select Disk, or Add or Remove Backup Disk.
  3. Select a backup disk from the list, then click Use Disk.

Back up using Time Machine

After you have setup the Time Machine, it automatically makes backups.

The oldest backups are deleted when your backup disk is full.

Once the backup has complete you will receive the below message on your screen.

     


Your first backup may take a long time, depending on how many files you have. You can continue using your Mac while a backup is underway but you may see a small decrease in speed during the backup.


Restore everything from a Time Machine backup

To completely restore your Mac, use the “Restore from Time Machine Backup” utility. The disk you're restoring is erased before receiving the macOS and other contents of your Time Machine backup.

To copy just your files, settings, or user accounts, use Migration Assistant.

Choose files or drag and drop files
Helpful?
Yes
No
  1. Luke

  2. Posted

Comments